Skip to Main Content

World History

Aztec Empire

World Digital Library
Search 19,147 items about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.

Mexico : a primary source cultural guide by Cobb, Allan B.
Call Number: 972 COB
ISBN: 0823938409
Publication Date: 2004
An overview of the history and culture of Mexico and its people including the geography, myths, arts, daily life, education, industry, and government, with illustrations from primary source documents.
Aztec Civilization by Lois Warburton
Call Number: 972 WAR
ISBN: 1560062770
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
Gives a history of the Aztec civilization of Mexico with a focus on documentation and primary source quotations.

Explora for Secondary Schools (EBSCO)
Grades 5-12 Designed specifically for students and educators. Features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help students successfully complete their research.
Gale Power Search (Gale)
Grades 3-12 Offers a variety of peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts on all subjects.
JSTOR + ARTstor (JSTOR)
Grades 9-12 Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Also includes access to ARTstor, a digital image library that provides access to over 2 million images from museums, academic institutions, and private foundations. The images are rights-cleared for use in research and education, and can be used in classroom instruction, presentations, and student assignments.
ProQuest (ProQuest)
Grades 5-12 provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources and more than 450,000 ebooks.

World History Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia with a vast library of resources for teachers and students studying ancient history and ancient cultures.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Contains carefully edited articles on all major topics.

MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Grades 7-12 Offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)
Grades 7-12 Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

The Aztec Empire by R. Conrad Stein
Call Number: 972 STE
ISBN: 0761400729
Publication Date: 1996-01-15
Traces the Aztec Empire from its beginnings in the deserts of northern Mexico to its conquest by Hernán Cortés, discussing the history, culture, deities, and legacy of the Aztecs.
Handbook to Life in the Aztec World by Manuel Aguilar-Moreno
Call Number: REF 972 AGU
ISBN: 0816056730
Publication Date: 2006-05-30
Provides information about various aspects of life in the Aztec world, highlighting notable events and achievements in Mesoamerican civilizations, covering history, geography, society and government, warfare, religion, cosmology, mythology, funerary beliefs and customs, art and architecture, literature, mathematics and science, and economy. Includes maps, drawings, and photographs.

Inca Empire

World Digital Library
Search 19,147 items about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.

Chile : a primary source cultural guide by Porterfield, Jason
Call Number: 983 POR
ISBN: 0823938379
Publication Date: 2004
An overview of the history and culture of Chile and its people including the geography, myths, arts, daily life, education, industry, and government, with illustrations from primary source documents.

Explora for Secondary Schools (EBSCO)
Grades 5-12 Designed specifically for students and educators. Features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help students successfully complete their research.
Gale Power Search (Gale)
Grades 3-12 Offers a variety of peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts on all subjects.
JSTOR + ARTstor (JSTOR)
Grades 9-12 Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Also includes access to ARTstor, a digital image library that provides access to over 2 million images from museums, academic institutions, and private foundations. The images are rights-cleared for use in research and education, and can be used in classroom instruction, presentations, and student assignments.
ProQuest (ProQuest)
Grades 5-12 provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources and more than 450,000 ebooks.

World History Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia with a vast library of resources for teachers and students studying ancient history and ancient cultures.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Contains carefully edited articles on all major topics.

The Incan Empire by Dennis Nishi
Call Number: 985 NIS
ISBN: 1560065389
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Discusses the Incan empire, including their traditional way of life, the reign of King Pachacuti, the last of the great kings, the Incan civil war, and the end of the empire.

Ming Empire

World Digital Library
Search 19,147 items about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.

Explora for Secondary Schools (EBSCO)
Grades 5-12 Designed specifically for students and educators. Features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help students successfully complete their research.
Gale Power Search (Gale)
Grades 3-12 Offers a variety of peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts on all subjects.
JSTOR + ARTstor (JSTOR)
Grades 9-12 Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Also includes access to ARTstor, a digital image library that provides access to over 2 million images from museums, academic institutions, and private foundations. The images are rights-cleared for use in research and education, and can be used in classroom instruction, presentations, and student assignments.
ProQuest (ProQuest)
Grades 5-12 provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources and more than 450,000 ebooks.

World History Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia with a vast library of resources for teachers and students studying ancient history and ancient cultures.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Contains carefully edited articles on all major topics.

Imperial China, 617-1644 by Guangqiu Xu (Editor)
Call Number: REF 951 IMP
ISBN: 0787617083
Publication Date: 2002-10-02
This volume, focusing on the history of imperial China and its Tang, Song, Yuan, and Ming dynasties, presents topical entries on events, ideas, developments, material conditions, and personalities.

Mughal Empire

World Digital Library
Search 19,147 items about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.

India : a primary source cultural guide by Draper, Allison Stark
Call Number: 954 DRA
ISBN: 0823938387
Publication Date: 2003
An overview of the history and culture of India and its people including the geography, myths, arts, daily life, education, industry, and government, with illustrations from primary source documents.

Explora for Secondary Schools (EBSCO)
Grades 5-12 Designed specifically for students and educators. Features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help students successfully complete their research.
Gale Power Search (Gale)
Grades 3-12 Offers a variety of peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts on all subjects.
JSTOR + ARTstor (JSTOR)
Grades 9-12 Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Also includes access to ARTstor, a digital image library that provides access to over 2 million images from museums, academic institutions, and private foundations. The images are rights-cleared for use in research and education, and can be used in classroom instruction, presentations, and student assignments.
ProQuest (ProQuest)
Grades 5-12 provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources and more than 450,000 ebooks.

World History Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia with a vast library of resources for teachers and students studying ancient history and ancient cultures.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Contains carefully edited articles on all major topics.

The Last Mughal by William Dalrymple
Call Number: YA 954.03 DAL
ISBN: 1400043107
Publication Date: 2007-03-27
Explores the history of India during the reign of Bahadur Shah Zafar II, the last Mughal emperor, focusing on the 1857 rebellion sanctioned by Zafar, in which Indian troops within the East India Company stage a mutiny which led to the deaths of thousands, the destruction of Delhi, and Zafar's exile in Burma.

Ottoman Empire

World Digital Library
Search 19,147 items about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.

Turkey : a primary source cultural guide by Kneib, Martha
Call Number: 956.1 KNE
ISBN: 0823938425
Publication Date: 2004
An overview of the history and culture of Turkey and its people including the geography, myths, arts, daily life, education, industry, and government, with illustrations from primary source documents.

Explora for Secondary Schools (EBSCO)
Grades 5-12 Designed specifically for students and educators. Features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help students successfully complete their research.
Gale Power Search (Gale)
Grades 3-12 Offers a variety of peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts on all subjects.
JSTOR + ARTstor (JSTOR)
Grades 9-12 Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Also includes access to ARTstor, a digital image library that provides access to over 2 million images from museums, academic institutions, and private foundations. The images are rights-cleared for use in research and education, and can be used in classroom instruction, presentations, and student assignments.
ProQuest (ProQuest)
Grades 5-12 provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources and more than 450,000 ebooks.

World History Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia with a vast library of resources for teachers and students studying ancient history and ancient cultures.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Contains carefully edited articles on all major topics.

MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Grades 7-12 Offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
Salem Press (Salem Press)
Grades 9-12 Online access to a variety of reference materials published by Salem Press. Topics include literary criticism, history, business and economics.

The Ottoman Empire by Adriane Ruggiero
Call Number: 956.1 RUG
ISBN: 0761414940
Publication Date: 2003-01-15
Examines the history, culture, religion, society, and achievements of the Ottoman Empire, from its tribal origins in the 1200s to its decline in the early twentieth century.

Safavid Empire

World Digital Library
Search 19,147 items about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.

Iran : a primary source cultural guide by Spencer, Lauren.
Call Number: 955 SPE
ISBN: 0823940004
Publication Date: 2004
Presents an overview of the history and culture of Iran and its people, covering geography, myths, arts, daily life, education, industry, and government, with illustrations from primary source documents.

Explora for Secondary Schools (EBSCO)
Grades 5-12 Designed specifically for students and educators. Features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help students successfully complete their research.
Gale Power Search (Gale)
Grades 3-12 Offers a variety of peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts on all subjects.
JSTOR + ARTstor (JSTOR)
Grades 9-12 Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Also includes access to ARTstor, a digital image library that provides access to over 2 million images from museums, academic institutions, and private foundations. The images are rights-cleared for use in research and education, and can be used in classroom instruction, presentations, and student assignments.
ProQuest (ProQuest)
Grades 5-12 provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources and more than 450,000 ebooks.

Encyclopedia Britannica
Contains carefully edited articles on all major topics.

Songhai Empire

World Digital Library
Search 19,147 items about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.

Explora for Secondary Schools (EBSCO)
Grades 5-12 Designed specifically for students and educators. Features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help students successfully complete their research.
Gale Power Search (Gale)
Grades 3-12 Offers a variety of peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts on all subjects.
JSTOR + ARTstor (JSTOR)
Grades 9-12 Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Also includes access to ARTstor, a digital image library that provides access to over 2 million images from museums, academic institutions, and private foundations. The images are rights-cleared for use in research and education, and can be used in classroom instruction, presentations, and student assignments.
ProQuest (ProQuest)
Grades 5-12 provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources and more than 450,000 ebooks.

World History Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia with a vast library of resources for teachers and students studying ancient history and ancient cultures.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Contains carefully edited articles on all major topics.

Songhay by Philip Koslow
Call Number: 966.2 KOS
ISBN: 0791031284
Publication Date: 1995-04-01

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2024 3:41 PM
URL: https://parish.libguides.com/worldhistoryclass
Print Page

Subjects: Social Studies, World History

Tags: aztec, empires, history, inca, land-based, land-based empires project, ming, mughal, ottoman, Research, safavid, songhai, world, world history